|
| |
Databases
Academic
Search Elite from EBSCOhost. From 1985 on - Full-text-
Updated daily.
Covering academic study in social & general sciences, humanities,
education this multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,050
scholarly journals, including nearly 1, 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Buffalo
& Erie County Public Library
Databases -
available with a valid Public
Library
card number.
Business
and Company ASAP 1980
- Apr 2008
Providing researchers with information
on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and
acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business
and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and
images.
Business
and Company Resource Center from
INFOTRAC - Current- Full-text. Detailed industry and company
profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories,
chronologies and periodicals.
Business
Source Elite from EBSCOhost. Some journals date back to 1985 - Full-text
- Updated daily.
Provides full text coverage for more than 1,100 scholarly business,
management and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed
publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and
abstracts for nearly 1,800 journals.
Top
Critical
Thinking from INFOTRAC
Contains up to date coverage on today's most controversial topics.
Custom
Newspapers from
INFOTRAC - Current - Some from 2000 on - Update varies
- Full-text.
Search a collection of 150 newspapers, both national and
international. An additional five-year backfile of full-text New York Times
articles has been added to Thomson-Gale’s InfoTrac Custom Newspapers. The
beginning date for New York Times articles is now January 1, 1995.
Top
E-Books
from INFOTRAC
EBSCO
Animals from EBSCOhost. Some full-text.
Database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the
nature and habitat of familiar animals.
ERIC from
EBSCOhost. From 1966 on - Full-text to about 1000 periodicals
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 2,200 digests
along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts
from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
EBSCOhost
for Kids
Funk
& Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia from EBSCOhost - Updated annually
- Full-text
This database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full
text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from
the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as
well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated
annually.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference
Library
is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources
for multidisciplinary research. These reference
materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them
online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own
eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at
different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office
General
Science Collection from EBSCOhost - From 1992 on - current -
Full-text. offers full-text coverage for more than 60 of the most
popular science publications, including Archaeology, Astronomy, Discover,
National Wildlife, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific
American, and many others. Subject areas covered include the observation,
description, identification, and experimental investigation of phenomena and the
application of science to industrial or commercial objectives. The database also
includes Great Scientific Achievements of the Twentieth Century, a multi-volume
encyclopedia from Salem Press.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of
human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and
general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building,
pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The
database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as
well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Health
Reference Center Academic from INFOTRAC - Some updates from 1980
- Full-text.
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness,
Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and
Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material
contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health
and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module from INFOTRAC1980
- Mar 2006
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals,
newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on:
Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc.
Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government
databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health
video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained
in this
Resource
Center
is intended for informational purposes only.
Top
Health
Source: Consumer Edition from EBSCOhost-- Updated daily -
Full-text.
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences,
food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source - Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300
journals.
Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost - Updated
daily - Full text.
Provides nearly 600 full text scholarly journals; an additional abstracts
and indexing for nearly 650 journals focusing on many medical disciplines. This
database is updated on a daily basis.
Informe
in Spanish from INFOTRAC - From 1994 on - Update
varies - Full-text.
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos
completos. Abarca negocios,salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y
otras materials.
Junior
Edition - K12 from
INFOTRAC - Current- Full-text.
For students in junior high and middle school, with
magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information
on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people,
government, history, sports and more.
Library,
Information Science & Technology Abstracts from EBSCOhost
Library
, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 690
periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging,
bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
MasterFILE
Select from EBSCOhost -
From 1985 on - Updated daily - Full text.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 800 general
reference publications dating to 1984. It includes 38 full text reference books
and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.
MedlinePlus®
"....brings together, by health topic, authoritative information from NLM,
the National Institutes of Health (NIH), other government, non-profit and other
health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in
MedlinePlus and give easy access to the medical research literature."
MEDLINE
from PubMed - 14 million citations from 1950 on - Links to 4312
full-text journals as of June 03, 2004. MEDLINE from the National
Library
of Medicine contains citations for biomedical articles covering the
fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care
system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Although coverage is worldwide, most
records are in English.
Top
National
Newspaper Index
from INFOTRAC - From 1977 - Update varies
- No full-text.
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the
indexing of
America
's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall
Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The
Washington Post.
Newspaper
Source from EBSCOhost - Current - Full-text - Updated daily.
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25 national (
U.S.
) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television
& radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional
(
U.S.
) newspapers.
New
York State Newspapers from INFOTRAC - Full text - Search this
database of ten major newspapers published in the state of
New York
, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
Opposing
Viewpoints Resource Center From
INFOTRAC
Opposing
Viewpoints
Resource
Center
is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing
on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Thomson Gale
imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine,
academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics,
images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile
reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum
standards search with content correlated to the standards.
Primary
Search from EBSCOhost - From
1990 - Full-text - Updated daily.
Provides full text for more than 50 popular, magazines for elementary school
research.
Project
MUSE
(currently available on-campus only. List
of titles).
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers
providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to 124 high
quality humanities and social sciences journals in the Basic Undergraduate
Collection, from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Regional
Business News from EBSCOhost Updated daily - Full text
This database provides comprehensive coverage for regional business
publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business
journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within
the
United States
.
Science
Reference Center - From
EBSCOhost
Science
Reference
Center
provides 639 full text titles from reference books, encyclopedias, periodicals,
newspapers, biographies and images.
TOPICSearch
from EBSCOhost on Current events - Full text for over 64,000
articles including nearly 1,600 full text periodicals.
Twayne
Authors Series from INFOTRAC Update varies - Full-text.
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the
full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters, books on individual
World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text
titles.Contents includes: Authors
A-Z: View full text discussions of an
author's works and a chronology of the author's life; In
Depth Search: Design your own search, using
words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, nationality, and time
period; Research Ideas: View topics with a
highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting
points.
Top
Updated April 17, 2008
|