All library and open access resources are listed alphabetically below.
Use the navigation bar to the left to find specific resources such as Databases, eBooks or Videos.
Indicates that a resource is available to Trocaire users only. If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Trocaire username and password.
- Bioethics Information Resources
Click here to access Bioethics Information ResourcesContinue reading →
A collection of resources from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes links to PubMed, NLM Catalog, Medline Plus and the National Human Genome Research Institute.
- Business First
Click here to access Business First
Business First updates financial and local (WNY) government news throughout the day.
If you’re having trouble accessing Business First off campus, please contact a librarianContinue reading →
- Chronicle of Higher Education (CHE) Online
Click here to access the Chronicle of Higher EducationContinue reading →
Full-text version of the Chronicle which covers academic news, advice, job listings and more.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Click here to access CINAHL CompleteContinue reading →
CINAHL Complete provides access to literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines from 1937 to present. The database indexes over 5,000 journal in the nursing field and health related fields. It also offers access to full-text and abstracted articles, evidence-based care sheets, and more.
Use this Toolkit for tips on how to use CINAHL Complete
- Credo Reference
Click here to access Credo ReferenceContinue reading →
An excellent place to begin your research on an unfamiliar topic.
Click here to access DailyMedContinue reading →
A collection of drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Click here to access the Directory of Open Access JournalsContinue reading →
Select from free, quality peer-reviewed full-text scholarly research journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- eBook Clinical Collection
Click here to access eBook Clinical Collection from EBSCOContinue reading →
This eBook collection was built specifically to support clinical professionals, researchers, and students of medical disciplines.
- eBooks from EBSCOhost
Click here to access eBooks from EBSCOhostContinue reading →
Over 4,000 eBooks in science, medicine, technology and liberal arts. In addition to new books, this database contains NetLibrary titles.
- EBSCOhostContinue reading →
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition
Click here to access Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic EditionContinue reading →
This is the online version of the respected Encyclopedia Britannica.
- F.A.Davis: Distance Learning Hub for Undergraduate Nursing
Click here to access the F.A. Davis: Distance Learning Hub for Undergraduate Nursing
F.A. Davis has granted students and instructors free access to open resources. These include: Skills Videos that teach students how to perform must-know procedures, Interactive Clinical Scenarios (ICS) that encourage students to walk through the nursing process to learn how to think like a nurse and Clinical Simulations that have been validated through their use in the NCSBN National Simulation Study and meet the current INACSL Standards of Best Practice: Simulation.
You will need to create an account using your school email address as your username. You will receive a confirmation email, click on the link and go to F.A. Davis. In the “Search box” in the upper right-hand corner, type Distance Learning Hub and then click on the grey box “Access Free Resources for Instructors and Students”. Click on “Resources” and then click on “OPEN ACCESS” and select the resource.Continue reading →
- Films on Demand
Click here to access Films on DemandContinue reading →
This database is currently experiencing some site performance issues and may take longer than usual to load.
A database that hosts documentaries, educational and skill videos. Subjects include: Hospitality, Nursing, Imaging, Anatomy, Human Resources, Theban Plays (Sophocles)
Use Internet Explore or Firefox browsers. Films may not play in Chrome.
- Gale LearningContinue reading →
- Health Services
Click here to access Health ServicesContinue reading →
A collection of health services research and public health information programs from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
Click here to access the Historical Encyclopedia of American BusinessContinue reading →
Comprehensive coverage of all major historical aspects of American business and finance.
- IGI Global Research Collection
Click here to access the IGI Global Research CollectionContinue reading →
A collection of 4 ebooks on topics such as education and health care.
Click here to access ImageQuestContinue reading →
This resource from Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to thousands of free images that can be inserted into academic assignments. Note: for educational use only.
Click here to access JOMI
JOMI provides surgical procedures offering incision-to-closure, long-form, high-quality, surgeon-narrated didactic experiences. JOMI is used by surgical technologists, and other health-related professionals to help them prepare for cases and learn about advances in surgical procedures. Most of JOMI content is focused on general surgery, orthopaedics, orthopaedic trauma, neurosurgery, and head and neck surgery.
Important: You must create an account to use this database:
1. When you click on “click here” it will take you to JOMIContinue reading →
2. On “Create an Account”, fill in your information
4. You MUST use your Trocaire email to create your account
3. Click “Create Account”
4. At the Institutional screen, type in Trocaire College
5. Select the “User Type” from the menu
6. Click on the green “Create Account” button
7. Once you create an account, the next time you visit the site, “sign in” is on the top right corner of the website
Click here for access to KanopyContinue reading →
Films from PBS, Nevco, Criterion Collection, BBC, Medcom and more.
NOTE: Kanopy will not work with Safari for Windows PC.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Click here to access MEDLINEContinue reading →
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Click here to access Medline/PubMedContinue reading →
A collection of citations and abstracts of biomedical literature for health care professionals from the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a part of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Merck Manual: Consumer Version
Click here to access Merck Manual: Consumer VersionContinue reading →
Provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
- Merck Manual: Professional Version
Click here to access Merck Manual: Professional VersionContinue reading →
Provides health care practitioners and students with practical information on “what to do” to diagnosis and treat disorders or conditions. The manual provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more.
- National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)
Click here for access to National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)Continue reading →
Standards from the Joint Commission, the accrediting organization that certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.
- New York Times
Click here to access the New York TimesContinue reading →
Full online access to all articles, videos, images, recipes, and more. Register with your Trocaire eMail account. Activate your Pass for this free access to NYTimes.com by clicking here and following the simple instructions. You may also wish to view this short video.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Click here to access the Occupational Outlook HandbookContinue reading →
Career information on hundreds of occupations. Published by the U. S. Department of Labor.
- ProQuest CentralContinue reading →
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health (Videos)
Click here to access ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health (Videos)Continue reading →
Collection of nursing and allied health videos on various topics (clinical skills, professionalism, ethics, HIPAA). Click on the + symbol to open the videos available in each series.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
Click here to access ProQuest Nursing and Allied HealthContinue reading →
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals (many full-text and peer-reviewed), dissertations, reference books and more.
- PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
Click here to access PsycARTICLESContinue reading →
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
- PTSDpubs (ProQuest)
Click here to access PTSDpubs.Continue reading →
Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD, this database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Click here to access PubMedContinue reading →
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN)
Click here to access Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN).Continue reading →
A collection of information and resources for nurses addressing the knowledge, skills and attitudes needed to improve the quality and safety of healthcare systems.
- Salem Press Reference Books Online
Click here to access Salem Press Reference Books OnlineContinue reading →
Salem Press offers a number of great reference books online in Health, History, Science and Literary Criticism.
- SIRS Issues Researcher
Click here to access SIRS Issues ResearcherContinue reading →
This database offers balanced content selections from more than 2,000 international sources on the analysis, opinions and the pros and cons of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, and political issues.
Use this Toolkit for tips on how to use SIRS.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Click here to access Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & LawContinue reading →
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, all federal statutes related to slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The database also contains hundreds of books and pamphlets written about slavery.
- The Surgical Technologist
Click here to access The Surgical TechnologistContinue reading →
A monthly journal from the Association of Surgical Technologists (AST). Access to current and back issues from January 1998 to the present.
Go to the Toolkit for the username and password as well as tips on how to use this journal.
- World Factbook from the CIA
Click here to access the World Factbook from the CIAContinue reading →
Facts and maps on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. The collection includes people, society, economy, energy, and more.