Indicates that a resource is available to Trocaire users only. If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Trocaire username and password. If you’re haveing toruble, click here for help.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Click here to access Academic OneFileContinue reading →
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
- Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Click here to access Academic Search EliteContinue reading →
Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Continue reading →
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Click here to access the Directory of Open Access JournalsContinue reading →
Free, full-text and peer-reviewed scientific journals
- EBSCOhost Continue reading →
- Family Health Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Family Health DatabaseContinue reading →
Consumer health – journal articles and magazines
Subject Area(s): Health & Medicine
- Gale Cengage Learning
Click here to access Gale Cengage LearningContinue reading →
Gale hosts a number of databases that cover a wide array of topics including both scholarly and popular articles
Use this Toolkit for tips on how to use Gale Cengage Learning.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Click here to access the Health & Medical CollectionContinue reading →
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. – journal articles
Subject Area(s): Unassigned
- Health Business Elite (EBSCO)
Click here to access Health Business EliteContinue reading →
This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. Updated on a daily basis, it is an indispensable resource for both healthcare professionals and researchers.
- Health Management Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access the Health Management DatabaseContinue reading →
Health administration – journal articles, dissertations
Subject Area(s): Health & Medicine
- Health Policy Reference Center (EBSCO)
Click here to access Health Policy Reference CenterContinue reading →
Health Policy Reference Center (HPRC) offers articles from hundreds of full-text publications, including industry-leading academic journals, monographs, magazines, trade publications and other valuable resources. In addition, it provides hundreds of thousands of records with subject headings from an extensive thesaurus.
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Click here to access the Health Reference Center AcademicContinue reading →
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Click here to access the Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionContinue reading →
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Click here to access MEDLINEContinue reading →
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)
Click here to access Nursing and Allied Health CollectionContinue reading →
Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- Phlebotomy Today
Click here to access Phlebotomy TodayContinue reading →
Phlebotomy Today continues the Center for Phlebotomy Education’s tradition of providing quality information to the phlebotomy community
- ProQuest Central Continue reading →
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
Click here to access ProQuest Nursing and Allied HealthContinue reading →
Scholarly articles for nursing education and the allied health fields.
- PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
Click here to access PsycARTICLESContinue reading →
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
- Psychology Collection (Gale)
Click here to access Psychology CollectionContinue reading →
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Psychology DatabaseContinue reading →
Psychology theory and practice – journal articles
Subject Area(s): Social Sciences , Psychology
- PTSDpubs (ProQuest)
Click here to access PTSDpubs.Continue reading →
An electronic index of publications from around the world on Post-traumatic Stress Disorder from the National Center for PTSD, a part of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
- Public Health Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Public Health DatabaseContinue reading →
Health, Medicine – journals articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations
Subject Area(s): Unassigned
- Ebook Central
Click here to access the Ebook Central database
Online and offline access to eBooks on a wide range of subjects
- On a public computer, read online.
- On your personal computer or eReader, download books after installing Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). For help go to ADE Help page.
- Downloaded books expire in 7 days.
- eBook Clinical Collection
Click here to access eBook Clinical Collection from EBSCOContinue reading →
This eBook collection was built specifically to support clinical professionals, researchers, and students of medical disciplines.
- eBooks from EBSCOhost
Click here to access eBooks from EBSCOhostContinue reading →
Over 4,000 eBooks in science, medicine, technology and liberal arts. In addition to new books, this database contains NetLibrary titles.
- Bioethics Information Resources
Click here to access Bioethics Information ResourcesContinue reading →
A collection of resources from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Credo Reference
Click here to access Credo ReferenceContinue reading →
An excellent place to begin your research on an unfamiliar topic.
Click here to access DailyMedContinue reading →
A collection of drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition
Click here to access Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic EditionContinue reading →
Online version of the respected Encyclopedia Britannica
- Health Reference Series Online
Click here to access Health Reference Series OnlineContinue reading →
Each volume is comprised of a wide variety of articles from authoritative sources to inform and educate readers about a disease or disorder, giving comprehensive information needed to understand a particular medical condition.
- Health Services
Click here to access Health ServicesContinue reading →
A collection of health services research and public health information programs from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
Click here to access ImageQuestContinue reading →
This resource from Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to thousands of free images that can be inserted into academic assignments. Note: for educational use only.
Click here to access Medline/PubMedContinue reading →
A collection of citations and abstracts of biomedical literature for health care professionals from the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a part of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Merck Manual: Consumer Version
Click here to access Merck Manual: Consumer VersionContinue reading →
Provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
- Merck Manual: Professional Version
Click here to access Merck Manual: Professional VersionContinue reading →
Provides health care practitioners and students with practical information on “what to do” to diagnosis and treat disorders or conditions. The manual provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more.
- National Library of Medicine, US
Click here to access the National Library of MedicineContinue reading →
NLM is the world’s largest biomedical library that makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources for healthcare professionals, consumers and researchers. The site includes databases, guides tutorials, search engines and much more. Here you will find PubMed, Medline Plus, Open I, Toxnet, Clinical Trials and other resources.
- National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)
Click here for access to National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)Continue reading →
Standards from the Joint Commission, the accrediting organization that certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.
- PrepSTEP Community College Edition
Click here to access PrepSTEP Community College Edition
PrepSTEP is a dynamic online eLearning platform that can help you prepare for success in school and the workplace. It has self-guided academic skill-building resources and tools for career readiness.
You will need to create an account in order to access content.Continue reading →
- PubMed Health
Click here to access PubMed Health.Continue reading →
A collection of information on the prevention and treatment of diseases and condition for consumers and clinicians from the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN)
Click here to access Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN).Continue reading →
A collection of information and resources for nurses addressing the knowledge, skills and attitudes needed to improve the quality and safety of healthcare systems.
- Salem Press Reference Books Online
Click here to access Salem Press Reference Books OnlineContinue reading →
Salem Press offers a number of great reference books online in Health, History, Science and Literary Criticism.
- Films on Demand
Click here to access Films on DemandContinue reading →
This database is currently experiencing some site performance issues and may take longer than usual to load.
Hospitality, Nursing, Imaging, Anatomy, Human Resources, Theban Plays (Sophocles)
Use Internet Explore or Firefox browsers. Films may not play in Chrome.
Click here for access to KanopyContinue reading →
Films from PBS, Nevco, Criterion Collection, BBC, Medcom and more.
NOTE: Kanopy will not work with Safari for Windows PC.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health (Videos)
Click here to access ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health (Videos)Continue reading →
Collection of nursing and allied health videos on various topics (clinical skills, professionalism, ethics, HIPAA). Click on the + symbol to open the videos available in each series.
- BSN Guide Continue reading →
- Career Success Guide for Nursing Students Continue reading →
- Database Guides Continue reading →
- Health Disparities Guide Continue reading →
- Inspiring Nursing Videos Continue reading →
- Library Tips for Nursing Students Continue reading →
- LPN Guide Continue reading →
- NCLEX Advice Continue reading →
- Nursing Websites Guide Continue reading →
- Research Guides Continue reading →
- RN Guide Continue reading →
- Test Taking Tips: Nursing Students Continue reading →
Cindy Seitz, MLS
Phone: (716) 827-2434