Philosophy & Religion
Indicates that a resource is available to Trocaire users only. If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Trocaire username and password. If you’re having trouble, click here for help.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Click here to access Academic OneFileContinue reading →
Academic OneFile is the comprehensive premier source for authoritative, peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
- Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Click here to access Academic Search EliteContinue reading →
Academic Search Elite contains full-text for more than 2,100 journals, nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
- Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Arts & Humanities DatabaseContinue reading →
This database contains journal articles in the fields of Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theater and Cultural Studies.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Click here to access the Directory of Open Access JournalsContinue reading →
Select from free, quality peer-reviewed full-text scholarly research journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- Diversity Studies (Gale Onefile)
Click here to access Diversity StudiesContinue reading →
Diversity Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- EBSCOhost Continue reading →
- Gale Cengage Learning
Click here to access Gale Cengage LearningContinue reading →
Gale hosts a number of databases that cover a wide array of topics including both scholarly and popular articles.
Use this Toolkit for tips on how to use Gale Cengage Learning.
- Linguistics Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Linguistics DatabaseContinue reading →
Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Click here to access Opposing ViewpointsContinue reading →
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Click here to access PhilPapersContinue reading →
A citation index and open access archive of Philosophy containing thousands of bibliographies.
- ProQuest Central Continue reading →
- Publicly Available Content Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Publicly Available Content DatabaseContinue reading →
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full-text to publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.
- Religion and Philosophy (Gale Onefile)
Click here to access Religion and PhilosophyContinue reading →
Religion and Philosophy provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
- Religion Database (ProQuest)
Click here to access Religion DatabaseContinue reading →
Religion Database provides a wide range of full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
- SIRS Issues Researcher
Click here to access SIRS Issues ResearcherContinue reading →
This database offers balanced content selections from more than 2,000 international sources on the analysis, opinions and the pros and cons of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, and political issues.
Use this Toolkit for tips on how to use SIRS.
- Ebook Central
Click here to access the Ebook Central database
Online and offline access to eBooks on a wide range of subjects.
- On a public computer, read online.
- On your personal computer or eReader, download books after installing Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). For help go to ADE Help page.
- Downloaded books expire in 7 days.
- eBooks from EBSCOhost
Click here to access eBooks from EBSCOhostContinue reading →
Over 4,000 eBooks in science, medicine, technology and liberal arts. In addition to new books, this database contains NetLibrary titles.
- Hathi Trust
Click here to access Hathi TrustContinue reading →
Hathi Trust is a digital library with over 15 million full-text searchable volumes, over 7 million of which are in the public domain and are fully accessible.
- Credo Reference
Click here to access Credo ReferenceContinue reading →
An excellent place to begin your research on an unfamiliar topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition
Click here to access Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic EditionContinue reading →
This is the online version of the respected Encyclopedia Britannica.
Click here to access ImageQuestContinue reading →
This resource from Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to thousands of free images that can be inserted into academic assignments. Note: for educational use only.
- Films on Demand
Click here to access Films on DemandContinue reading →
This database is currently experiencing some site performance issues and may take longer than usual to load.
A database that hosts documentaries, educational and skill videos. Subjects include: Hospitality, Nursing, Imaging, Anatomy, Human Resources, Theban Plays (Sophocles)
Use Internet Explore or Firefox browsers. Films may not play in Chrome.
Click here for access to KanopyContinue reading →
Films from PBS, Nevco, Criterion Collection, BBC, Medcom and more.
NOTE: Kanopy will not work with Safari for Windows PC.
- Database Guides Continue reading →
- Philosophy & Religion Guide Continue reading →
- Research Guides Continue reading →
Cindy Seitz, MLS
Phone: (716) 827-2434