Indicates that a resource is available to Trocaire users only. If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Trocaire username and password. If you’re having trouble, click here for help.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
- Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Click here to access CINAHL CompleteContinue reading →
CINAHL Complete provides access to literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines from 1937 to present. The database indexes over 5,000 journal in the nursing field and health related fields. It also offers access to full-text and abstracted articles, evidence-based care sheets, and more.
Use this Toolkit for tips on how to use CINAHL Complete
- Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Click here to access the Directory of Open Access JournalsContinue reading →
Select from free, quality peer-reviewed full-text scholarly research journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- Gale Learning
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Click here to access the Health & Medical CollectionContinue reading →
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
- Health and Medicine (Gale Onefile)
Click here to access Health and MedicineContinue reading →
Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Click here to access the Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionContinue reading →
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Click here to access MEDLINEContinue reading →
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale Onefile)
Click here to access Nursing and Allied HealthContinue reading →
Nursing and Allied Health provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- ProQuest Central
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
Click here to access ProQuest Nursing and Allied HealthContinue reading →
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals (many full-text and peer-reviewed), dissertations, reference books and more.
- Science (Gale Onefile)
- Science Database (ProQuest)
- eBook Clinical Collection
Click here to access eBook Clinical Collection from EBSCOContinue reading →
This eBook collection was built specifically to support clinical professionals, researchers, and students of medical disciplines.
- eBooks from EBSCOhost
- Health Reference Series Online
Click here to access Health Reference Series OnlineContinue reading →
Each volume is comprised of a wide variety of articles from authoritative sources to inform and educate readers about a disease or disorder, giving comprehensive information needed to understand a particular medical condition.
- R2 Digital Library
Click here to access R2 Digital Library.Continue reading →
R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform featuring a comprehensive collection of eBooks for allied health, health informatics, surgical technology, radiologic technology, massage, and nursing. You can create an individual login (top right corner of login page) to save your bookmarks, citations, references, and images.
- Credo Reference
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition
Click here to access Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic EditionContinue reading →
This is the online version of the respected Encyclopedia Britannica.
- Health Services
- Merck Manual: Consumer Version
Click here to access Merck Manual: Consumer VersionContinue reading →
Provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
- Merck Manual: Professional Version
Click here to access Merck Manual: Professional VersionContinue reading →
Provides health care practitioners and students with practical information on “what to do” to diagnosis and treat disorders or conditions. The manual provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more.
- National Library of Medicine, US
Click here to access the National Library of MedicineContinue reading →
NLM is the world’s largest biomedical library that makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources for healthcare professionals, consumers and researchers. The site includes databases, guides tutorials, search engines and much more. Here you will find PubMed, Medline Plus, Open I, Toxnet, Clinical Trials and other resources.
- National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)
Click here for access to National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)Continue reading →
Standards from the Joint Commission, the accrediting organization that certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.
- Salem Press Reference Books Online
Click here to access Salem Press Reference Books OnlineContinue reading →
Salem Press offers a number of great reference books online in Health, History, Science and Literary Criticism.
- Films on Demand
Click here to access Films on DemandContinue reading →
This database is currently experiencing some site performance issues and may take longer than usual to load.
A database that hosts documentaries, educational and skill videos. Subjects include: Hospitality, Nursing, Imaging, Anatomy, Human Resources, Theban Plays (Sophocles)
Use Internet Explore or Firefox browsers. Films may not play in Chrome.
Click here to access JOMI
JOMI provides surgical procedures offering incision-to-closure, long-form, high-quality, surgeon-narrated didactic experiences. JOMI is used by surgical technologists, and other health-related professionals to help them prepare for cases and learn about advances in surgical procedures. Most of JOMI content is focused on general surgery, orthopaedics, orthopaedic trauma, neurosurgery, and head and neck surgery.
Important: You must create an account to use this database:
1. When you click on “click here” it will take you to JOMIContinue reading →
2. On “Create an Account”, fill in your information
4. You MUST use your Trocaire email to create your account
3. Click “Create Account”
4. At the Institutional screen, type in Trocaire College
5. Select the “User Type” from the menu
6. Click on the green “Create Account” button
7. Once you create an account, the next time you visit the site, “sign in” is on the top right corner of the website
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health (Videos)
Click here to access ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health (Videos)Continue reading →
Collection of nursing and allied health videos on various topics (clinical skills, professionalism, ethics, HIPAA). Click on the + symbol to open the videos available in each series.
Jessica Gavin, MLS
Phone: (716) 827-2434
email: [email protected]